3D-Printed Micro R/C Crawler

SolidWorks Rendering of a Micro Rock-Crawler Prototype

SolidWorks Rendering of a Micro Rock-Crawler Prototype

Here are some more images and ‘Photo-Realistic’ SolidWorks CAD Renderings of the 3D-Printed Micro Rock Crawler R/C Toy Project.

UPDATE

Jim is now selling the Micro-Crawler Chassis on Lynx Micro Tech:
https://lynxmicrotech.wordpress.com/chassis-kits/

All these items in Photo were Create by Jim and Can Now be Purchased

All these items in Photo were Create by Jim and Can Now be Purchased

http://www.shapeways.com/shops/lynxmicrotech

Also Wheel Rims and other 3D-Printed Parts … Well Done Jim!!

Original 'Tuber' Micro Rock Crawler Design

Original ‘Tuber’ Micro Rock Crawler Design

Jim Frye (formerly the owner of Lynxmotion Robotics) came up with an idea to create Mirco R/C Rock Crawlers using 3D-Printed parts.  I had drawn him a few robotic CAD parts in the past, so he contacted me to help him with the CAD designs using SolidWorks.

Micro Rock Crawler Tube Chassis & Rims are 3D-Printed

Micro Rock Crawler Tube Chassis & Rims are 3D-Printed

At first Jim was unaware I had the ability to create concept ‘Photo-Realistic’ renderings using SolidWorks CAD Software, but soon the renderings became the center-point for design creation.   Jim came up with the designs and I turned them into mechanical CAD files & image renderings.

Rendering showing Crawler Maximum Articulation

CAD Rendering showing the Crawler’s Front & Back Maximum Articulation

We were also able to use the ‘Simulation’ abilities of SolidWorks CAD software to check mechanical items such as part clearances & maximum suspension articulation.

Micro Rock Crawler Prototype shown in SolidWorks CAD Software

Micro Rock Crawler Prototype shown in SolidWorks CAD Software

SolidWorks allowed us to completely design the Crawler Prototypes in the computer prior to any 3D-Printing or Fabrication…

First 3D-Printed Chassis Concept Design

First 3D-Printed Chassis Concept Design

Once we had a Chassis Design Concept, Jim purchased a High-End 3D-Printer and started makes test parts.

Real-World 3D-Printed Crawler Parts

Real-World 3D-Printed Crawler Parts

Jim is very experienced in creating real-world robotic & toy parts; however, for me it was quite surreal to see items I had been drawing in the computer for months actually be 3D-Printed into real-world parts.

'Tuber' 3D-Printed Chassis in a Live Test

‘Tuber’ 3D-Printed Chassis in a Live Test

Jim made Real-World moving Rock Crawler Prototypes using the 3D-Printed parts designed in SolidWorks.

One of the 1st Moving 3D-Printed Prototypes

One of the 1st Moving 3D-Printed Prototypes

On a Leap-of-Faith, Jim took my suggestion that he should spend several thousand dollars to buy SolidWorks, and that I would teach him how to use it by making ‘Screen-Captured’ tutorial videos for him using our Micro-Crawler SolidWorks designs as the subject in the help videos.

Example of Tutorial Video:  http://www.screencast.com/t/tbo3Ig3oZ

Jim has since become quite proficient using SolidWorks!

New SPECTER Chassis Designs

New SPECTER Chassis Designs

The next step was to start designing different custom Chassis styles.

Close-Up of Fastback Chassis Style

Close-Up of Fastback Chassis Style

The SPECTER was the next Micro R/C Rock Crawler design item to make it to a real-world moving prototype.
Link to YouTube Video of the SPECTER: http://youtu.be/KHbt6tFj7QI

The SPECTER Moving Prototype Crawler

The SPECTER Moving Prototype Crawler

From time-to-time Jim would surprise me with other Crawler parts he was making using his CNC Laser…

Laser Cut & Etched Crawler Rims

Laser Cut & Etched Crawler Rims

Jim is now selling the Micro-Crawler Chassis on Lynx Micro Tech:
https://lynxmicrotech.wordpress.com/chassis-kits/

WHAAAT

UPDATE– CLICK HERE to See the New ‘Scorpion‘ Micro-Crawler Design …

New 'Scorpion' Micro-Rock-Crawler Concept Rendering

New ‘Scorpion’ Micro-Rock-Crawler Concept Rendering

Jim is now selling the Micro-Crawler Chassis on Lynx Micro Tech:
https://lynxmicrotech.wordpress.com/chassis-kits/

— CHEERS . . .

9 Comments

Filed under 3D-Printing, BRAINSTORMING, CONCEPTS, PROJECTS

9 responses to “3D-Printed Micro R/C Crawler

  1. Pingback: 3D Printed Micro Rock Crawlers - 3D Printing Industry

    • You article in 3D-Printing Industry about the Micro Rock Crawlers is very well written. I wish I had your eloquent talent for writing. Well Done, and I enjoyed the other articles — http://3dprintingindustry.com … BTW *GRIN* I enjoyed the “Mystery Man” comment, it made me smile — I asked Mr. Frye a while back not to mention my name on his Forum sites only because I didn’t want other Mirco-Crawler enthusiasts to attempt to contact me to create personal crawler 3D-Printing CAD STL designs for them… Jim Frye started the process; therefore, I felt honored to work with just with him to create his design ideas. On a different note – I am working on a completely different project at this time, and I will contact you when it is done. You might find it interesting enough to document on http://3dprintingindustry.com *SMILE*

  2. Pingback: 3D-Printed ‘Scorpion’ Micro-Crawler | CTM Projects

  3. Chris Salerno-Jones

    I know you guys are busy as can be. Have to say you make some of the most amazing products, and can see that you will have a huge impact in todays market as well as the future market. I was wondering what the time frame is for the sale of the micro crawler chassis?
    The reason I ask, is that I have to spend a lot of time indoors with my multiple sclerosis getting worse. I have been working on small rc and models for fine motor skill building. It beats sitting at a doctors buttoning, unbuttoning fake clothes and pointless therapy.. lol. Plus it keeps me happy.

    I would really appreciate it if you could let me know. Or if I could purchase a prototype?

    • Thank you for the comment Chris. I consider the Crawlers JIM’s project so I have to leave the timeline to him on the Crawlers he has designed as to when he will release them to the public. Possibly you can contact him via a post on his Forum Website. I noticed he has some amazing new items he is working on recently 🙂 I have posted a link for Jim’s Forum site in the original 3D-Printed Crawler post on my Blog. (Look for the Jumping Minions *LOL*) https://ctmprojectsblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/3d-printed-micro-rc-crawler/ ~~ Of course, if you would like to design some 3D-Printed items of your own you could have them printed on http://www.shapeways.com/ and possibly find a user group that shares STL designs. STL is the 3D-Printing file type created with CAD software ~ If someone has not started a 3D-Printing user group it might be a great thing for you to start on Twitter or Facebook. Invite people to join the want to design items to be 3D-Printed and maybe even people that have a 3D-Printer … Never know I might even join if invited *SMILE* ~~ Just as if I designed one of your 3D-Printing ideas in the future in SolidWorks CAD software, I would never give out the design files to anyone else without your permission; therefore, the CAD files I made for Jim are his to do with as he wishes. I am sure you understand. Maybe you can design some original ideas of your own and send a photo to my twitter account @Metaldesigner … I usually about once a week I will draw something up for someone as a favor just for the fun of it if I have time … I won’t draw draw copies of Jim’s 4×4 Crawlers because 4×4 Crawlers are his thing, but I bet there are lots of other creative items you could think up that would work with R/C parts, etc. How about a 6 wheel R/C Mars Rover of your own design? It would be fun to design that with you and you could have it 3D-Printed on Shapeways.com out of flexible material?? Best way to contact me is via @MetalDesigner on Twitter. 🙂 CHEERS!!!

  4. Jonathan Adame

    I have some thoughts on a new design of scale rc crawlers and I was wondering on how I could get some help with the design in computer 3d to get me started…. and I have plenty of friends that have CNC machines to build the design once its in 3d and we could have measurements from you. Please notify me with the answer to making this a reality.

  5. Hi am Carson,I’m 12 years old and me and my family sold all of are stuff and embarked on a journey around the world.

    wwwclunkmonkey.com

    We really like your rock crawlers

Leave a Reply

