IS IT A BAD MEMORY… or…

iPhone Submarine made from 3D-Printed Parts

iPhone Submarine made from 3D-Printed Parts

For years I have been solving other people’s design & fabrication problems.  Most of the time I have only a few days (or sometimes just overnight) to fix designs & fabrication issues that others have worked on for months.  Yet, I enjoy the deadlines, because the limited time seems to generate more interest, and interest creates ideas.

Lately, it has become almost a hobby to look for something on a website that isn’t working and design a solution… and then randomly (and sometimes anonymously) send the solution to the owners of the company.  Usually never hear back from them, but sometimes I make a new friend, and other times I get a ‘strongly worded response’ telling me to leave their designs alone. *GRIN*

The Submarine also works with GoPro Video Cameras

The Submarine also works with GoPro Video Cameras

With the onset of 3D-Printing and other technology, that I feel will completely change the world in the next 10 years, I have decided to work on a few design concept solutions of my own.  They are very random and have no order of importance, some are silly, some are just helpful, and others are more complicated.  Many concepts build off of other concepts, so once one item is finished, parts of it might be used on future concept solutions.

3D-Printed Parts that Make Up the iPhone Submarine

3D-Printed Parts that Make Up the iPhone Submarine

In the future 3D-Printing (Generalized Term) is going to change how many things are done in our world.  I will get deeper into those thoughts later, but for now, I would compare the advancement of 3D-Printing as to where the Internet was in 1996.  Very new, lots of concept ideas, but not many people have figured out what to do with it yet… but back to my memory and the reason for this blog…

Open View of iPhone Submarine

Open View of iPhone Submarine

I seem to be able to hold concept and memories for about 2 weeks, then they start to fade if I have not thought about them.  Not sure if it is a bad memory, or just having too many balls in the air, but I find myself going back and looking at old websites or twitter posts to help me remember what I was working on months ago.

The problem seems to be I get deep into one project and by the time I am finished with it I have forgotten many of the design concept on other projects I thought of while working on the current project.  I make notes but sometimes forget I made the notes or even where to find them.  Recently I got very sick for over 2 weeks and was at a complete lost where I left off and what I was working on prior to being sick.

Under View of iPhone Submarine

Under View of iPhone Submarine

In addition, I use different computers at home, in the workshop, and when travelling and it would be nice to be able to read my thoughts no matter what computer I am on, even if it is not one of my normal work computer… such as an iPad or smartphone.

It would be nice to just be part of a ‘Think-Tank’ and have someone else keep track of the thoughts and concepts, but at this time, no one really knows I exist (other than the people I help) … so until such time someone invites me into there Think-Tank, I guess I will just have to work on this stuff myself and continue to randomly help strangers solve their needed solutions.

BTW — No point to the images… I just put them in here so that I have a copy of them if I ever need them as a CAD ‘Rendering’ example.  (Mechanical Designs & Renderings are Done Using SolidWorks Design/Engineering Software)

Image

Top View of iPhone Controlled Submarine Toy

I created this iPhone Submarine to enter a Shapeways.com 3D-Printing contest on GrabCAD.com … I think I got 6th place or something like that *GRIN*
Maybe someday I will Print it and build it.

Back View of the iPhone Submarine

Back View of the iPhone Submarine

Figured out a way for the iPhone signal to transfer underwater to control the Submarine & transfer video data… kinda expected the DOD to be knocking at my door the next day, but nothing… hummmm, have to admit I was let down… Oh, well… maybe someday someone will be interested in the solution… quite simple, but still waiting for some company to figure it out?
Whatcha gonna do, it sucks to be anonymous.  *GRIN*

Bottom View of iPhone Submarine

Bottom View of iPhone Submarine

— CHEERS …

1 Comment

Filed under THOUGHTS

One response to “IS IT A BAD MEMORY… or…

  1. chet

    that thing is bad ass! 🙂

Leave a Reply

