Porta-Band-Saw Tabletop Stand

Portable Band Saw being used with a 'Vertical' Tabletop Stand

Portable Band Saw being used with a ‘Vertical’ Tabletop Stand

This might be the most helpful; yet simplest, item I have made for my workshop.

UPDATE: I have used this Vertical Tabletop Band-Saw on many projects :

Adjustable Height Gantry Hoist Crane

‘Over-Jeep’ Workshop Lift-Table

Additional CTM Projects that the Tabletop Band-saw was used on …

Porta-Band-Saw Tabletop Stand

A drawing  of the Porta-Bandsaw with dimensions is on the bottom of this Post.

Portable Band Saw Unit is Plugged into an Extension Cord On/Off Switch

Portable Band Saw Unit is Plugged into an Extension Cord On/Off Switch

It is a ‘Vertical Tabletop Stand’ for a portable ‘Deep Cut’ Variable Speed Band Saw that I purchased from the reconditioned area in the Milwaukee Tool Store.

Milwaukee 6230N 'Deep Cut' Portable Band Saw

Milwaukee 6230N ‘Deep Cut’ Portable Band Saw

The short story is I wanted a portable band saw I could use outside the shop, but needed a way to justify buying it since I knew it would not get used very often outside the workshop.   Then I noticed a vertical tabletop stand online and decided to make a stand of my own using leftover metal from the scrap bin.
( My favorite hobby – Scrap Metal Tool Design! *GRIN* )

Welded Vertical Tabletop Stand for the Portable Band Saw

Welded Vertical Tabletop Stand for the Portable Band Saw

I had some 6″ wide by 1/2″ thick flat-bar steel leftover from when I made my welding table and I cut it into 3 parts and welded it together.  Then I looked around my workshop and found some 1 1/4″ angle-iron in the scrap bin.  Cut the angle-metal to length, drilled some holes in it, and welded the angle to the Flat-bar portion.  ( Not the most complicated item ever designed *Smile* )

Portable Band Saw can be Quickly Bolted to Tabletop

Portable Band Saw can be Quickly Bolted to Tabletop

Next, I removed the Cut-Guide ( Work-Steady Attachment ) from the Portable Band Saw to measure the hole dimensions for drilling of the new tabletop stand.

Milwaukee 6230N Drawing Showing the Location of the Work Steady Rest

Milwaukee 6230N Drawing Showing the Location of the Work Steady Rest

[ CLICK ON IMAGES TO SEE A LARGER VIEW ]

Once the holes were drilled and counter-sunk ( allowing the mounting screws to match up with the nuts located inside the slot in the saw’s aluminum body ) …
I then used the porta-band-saw to cut the ‘blade slot’ in the stand top.

Band Saw's Work Steady Rest Removed to Mount Saw to Tabletop Stand

Band Saw’s Work Steady Rest Removed to Mount Saw to Tabletop Stand

Then it was just a matter of screwing the band saw to the new vertical tabletop stand, and then using a set of all-thread rods to connect it to the welding table.

Being Used as a Vertical Band Saw on my Welding Table

Being Used as a Vertical Band Saw on my Welding Table

It would be an understatement to say I use this Vertical Stand more than I expected.  It is quick to setup, easy to use, and if I tip the stand and saw on its side I can change the blades with the stand still attached to the Porta-Band-Saw.

Making some Welded Parts for a Friend using the Tabletop Band Saw Stand

Making some Welded Parts for a Friend using the Tabletop Band Saw Stand

 The band saw trigger is held down with an elastic Velcro strip … its variable speed dial is still adjustable … and the unit is turned On/Off with a plug-in switch.

Velcro being Used to Hold Switch ... On/Off is Controlled with Plug-in Switch

Velcro being Used to Hold Switch … On/Off is Controlled with Plug-in Switch

If needed to cut some metal on those occasional projects outside the workshop…
It takes about 30 seconds to unscrew the portable band saw from the stand.

Different TPI Replacement Blades are Easily Changed on Portable Band Saw

Different TPI Replacement Blades are Easily Changed on Portable Band Saw

The same day the Vertical  Porta-Band-Saw Stand unit was finished, I used it to cut some stainless steel for a friend using a 24TPI (teeth per inch) blade and it cut very accurately through the flat-bar like butter … Justifying the project. 🙂

Cutting a Long Piece of Stainless with the Band Saw

Cutting a Long Piece of Stainless with the Band Saw

As you can see in the photo above – since the vice can be bolted down anywhere on my welding table – I used a bent piece of scrap sheet-metal clamped in the vice as a support to hold the long Stainless Steel flat-bar steady and level as I cut it into different shapes with the ‘Deep Cut’ portable band saw.

That’s it… a pretty Simple Stupid design… but it works!!

–CHEERS…

UPDATE ~

I was asked for the dimensions of my Porta-Bandsaw Stand.

The dimensions will depend on your Bandsaw type & model.  With that said, these are the dimensions for the Porta-Bandsaw stand I made using scrap metal found in my workshop.

Click on the Dimension Drawing to See a Larger View

Click on the Dimension Drawing to See a Larger View

It is important to Counter-Sink the Top Screws deep enough so the metal you cut will slide over the mounting screws … If you don’t have Flathead screws you can use normal screws and a 1/2″ drill bit to create the counter-sink depth.

Top-View Showing the Bandsaw Mounting Holes

Top-View Showing the Bandsaw Mounting Holes

Many ways to make the same type of stand … I hope these dimensions help you understand how I made my stand to help you design one for yourself.

Close-Up View Showing Underneath the Bandsaw Stand

Close-Up View Showing Underneath the Bandsaw Stand

Click on Any of These Images to See a Large Close-Up View

Click on Any of These Images to See a Large Close-Up View

My welding table has mount holes for special clamps, and the holes dimensions apart are metric; thus, why the holes in this Band-Saw Stand are metric.

My Bottom Mounting Holes fit My Metric Welding Table Holes

My Bottom Mounting Holes fit My Metric Welding Table Holes

~ CHEERS …

Additional CTM Projects

Aluminum Metal Casting Using 3D-Printed Mold Shapes

Metal Casting Sand Mold Flask – Pour in Molten Aluminum

Combination Gantry Hoist & Workshop Lift Table

Side-View SolidWorks Concept Rendering of the Extension Arm

Scissor Lift Workshop Table

Small Lift-Table used to Move Abrasive Blasting Cabinet onto Stand

How to Shorten a Pallet Jack for Smaller Workshops

Finished Project – Pallet Jack Shortened by 18″

Adjustable Height 2-Ton Gantry Hoist

Hoist in its Normal 9 Foot Under the i-beam Position

3D-Printed Household Items

ARLO Security Camera 3D Printed Mount

.  .  .  .

 

3 Comments

Filed under PROJECTS, WORKSHOP

3 responses to “Porta-Band-Saw Tabletop Stand

  1. Joe

    Really nice job.

  2. So I have been noticing a lot of burning on the wood every time I use my band saw. I have been expecting that it was time to get a new band saw blade but I am just a novice and didn’t know which thickness of blade to get. Now all I have to do is decide what sort of work I want to use the blade for and then I can produce better quality. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a comment