3D-Printed R1 Crawler Chassis

Jim is now selling the Micro-Crawler Chassis on Lynx Micro Tech:
https://lynxmicrotech.wordpress.com/chassis-kits/

All these items in Photo were Create by Jim and Can Now be Purchased

All these items in Photo were Create by Jim and Can Now be Purchased

R1 Side-View Rendering

A few weeks ago decided to work on an R1 Type Chassis as a Surprise for Jim.

R1 'Split Chassis' Micro R/C Rock Crawler Concept Design

R1 ‘Split Chassis’ Micro R/C Rock Crawler Concept Design

I knew Jim Frye had not been feeling well so decided to take on a Micro Crawler Chassis design of my own based on an R1 Style. Wanted to try out an idea I had for splitting the chassis into two parts to make it less expensive to 3D-Print.

R1 Prototype CAD Model was Created Using SolidWorks CAD Software

R1 Prototype CAD Model was Created Using SolidWorks CAD Software

Usually Jim comes up with the Crawler Chassis concept and I figure out a way to draw it into SolidWorks … For this concept, I decided to start it on my own on night and actually had no idea what it would look like when finished.

Stayed up all night designing the R1 Chassis … and this was ths final result …

Photo-Realistic CAD Rendering Created with SolidWorks 2013 Version

Photo-Realistic CAD Rendering Created with SolidWorks 2013 Version

A nice bonus was I only had to draw one side of the chassis because SolidWorks has a great time saving feature called ‘Mirror Part’ whereby I was able to create an additional mirror image part is under a minute. * NICE Software Feature!! *

One Side of the R1 'Split Chassis' 3D-Printed Design

One Side of the R1 ‘Split Chassis’ 3D-Printed Design

Lightweight & Strong Center Metal Tubes Connect the Two Chassis Sides

Lightweight & Strong Center Metal Tubes Connect the Two Chassis Sides

Not sure if this is a Chassis that will be Production 3D-Printed and sold; however, I am certainly going to make a few to give to my friend’s kids as gifts.

Under View Rendering Showing How the Suspension Connects to Chassis

Under View Rendering Showing How the Suspension Connects to Chassis

— CHEERS …

Jim is now selling the Micro-Crawler Chassis on Lynx Micro Tech:
https://lynxmicrotech.wordpress.com/chassis-kits/

Also Wheel Rims and other 3D-Printed Parts … Yay!!

.  .  .

4 Comments

Filed under 3D-Printing, BRAINSTORMING, CONCEPTS

4 responses to “3D-Printed R1 Crawler Chassis

  1. Have you ever made the files to make these vehicles public? I would love to build one of these.

    • I just draw the files but Jim is working on providing them to the public. I will be sure to post the location to purchase them when he has them ready… I would assume this Fall or Winter. I think he wants to have all the Chassis designs completed and tested also including the Laser Cut Rims. Thank You for your Note *SMILE*

  2. Ken Davis

    I teach school could you send me the info where to buy the parts for the crawlers.

    • Thank you for the comment Ken. The Crawlers are JIM’s project so I have to leave the timeline to him on the Crawlers he has designed as to when he will release them to the public. Possibly you can contact him via a post on one of his many Forum Websites? I put a link to his Forum sites on one of my posts https://ctmprojectsblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/3d-printed-micro-rc-crawler/ – – – ON ANOTHER NOTE ~ Possibly your class would like to come up with an Original design of their own the I can draw in for you. (Not 4×4 Crawlers) … I just suggested a 3D-Printed Mars Rover to another individual who posted a comment. As a Class project, once designed the parts could be printed on Shapeways.com after I helped you draw the parts into SolidWorks just for the fun of it. Once you have the STL 3D-Printing files you can give them to Shapeways.com and they will print you parts for you. There are many other companies as well that might already have items ready to print. I was contacted by 3DLT.com to help them design 3D-Printed items to sell on their website … Maybe there is something there or even better maybe your class could design hand drawings of a 3D-Printed item and I could draw it into SolidWorks and make rendering until it was just right for your class and then they can submit the finished item to 3DLT.com to have it printed BUT ALSO then the class might make money off it if others buy the Original Creative item on 3DLT.com … Possibly a fund raiser for paying for the next years class 3D-Printing project (Pay it forward) … Best way to reach me is via twitter @MetalDesigner (Robotic SolidWorks) … Just remind me you sent me a comment and that it is you and I will follow you on twitter and then have ability to send PMs. I just posted a photo on twitter of Jim’s latest 3D-Print of a 1/24th scale Miller Wildcat Welding Machine 3D-Printed to go with his 3D-Printed 1/24th scale 3D-Printed R/C Pickup. Have a GREAT Day!! CHEERS!!!

Leave a Reply

