‘Over Jeep’ Workshop Lift-Table

Up_and_Down_View

The reason for this project was I wanted to have a large 4ft x 8ft table for my home workshop which I could lift up and drive my Jeep Wrangler under the table when not using it and/or to save space in the shop at night.

Complete Plans can be viewed on GrabCAD
https://grabcad.com/library/gantry-lift-table-complete-plans-1

Metal Frame can be a Gantry Hoist to Lift Heay Items Onto the Welding Table

Metal Frame can be a Gantry Hoist to Lift Heay Items Onto the Welding Table

In addition, I wanted the tabletop easy to remove so that the remaining ‘Metal Frame’ would become a Gantry Hoist Unit whereby I would hang a 1 Ton Chain Hoist for lifting heavy equipment items like lathes or milling machines onto their stands … and/or lifting the engine out of the Jeep for repairs, etc.

SolidWorks Concept Rendering Showing Workshop table in Lower Position

SolidWorks Concept Rendering Showing Workshop table in Lower Position

Concept CAD Rendering Showing the Tabletop Removed from Metal Frame

Concept CAD Rendering Showing the Tabletop Removed from Metal Frame

While I like the blue color in these renderings, my main reason for using blue is because part features show up well in the renderings … Yellow is another color that shows details & contours well in CAD rendered images.

Sides Raised for Extra Stability when Used as a Gantry Hoist for Lifting

Sides Raised for Extra Stability when Used as a Gantry Hoist for Lifting

Side View ~ Tabletop in Lower and Raised Positions

Side View ~ Tabletop in Lower and Raised Positions

Once the concept design was finished, I refined the design in SolidWorks to find out how much metal I needed and how much it would weigh.  In addition, used SolidWorks Simulation to find the stress points and lifting weight limits.

If you click on the images below you can view High-Resolution CAD Renderings.

Final SolidWorks CAD Rendering Showing Table in Over Jeep Position

Final SolidWorks CAD Rendering Showing Table in Over Jeep Position

The RED paint markings on the Gantry Side Posts are there to remind me that if I can see the red marks the gantry is high enough that one of the garage doors could hit it if opened … Much of the workshop area is completely clear, but on the odd chance the table is wheeled close to the garage doors hopefully the red markings will remind me to lower the gantry or move the table away from the door ~ I will let you know how that goes *LOL* 🙂

SolidWorks Rendering Showing Final Paint Color Scheme

SolidWorks Rendering Showing Final Paint Color Scheme

I purchased the Metal and started the project …   Yay!! 🙂

Raw Uncut Metal Waiting to Become My New Lift-Table

Raw Uncut Metal Waiting to Become My New Lift-Table

Put a new blade on the Metal Cutting Band-Saw ~ For an inexpensive small metal band saw it works quite well, and with the new blade it was cutting extra straight … When I checked the cuts with my machinist square the 90 degree angles were as perfect 90 as I have ever seen from any band saw I have used.

Inexpensive Metal Cutting Band Saw that Fits Under My Welding Table

Inexpensive Metal Cutting Band Saw that Fits Under My Welding Table

The metal comes is 20 foot lengths and the photo below shows what was left over after cutting everything for the Lift-table project ~ SolidWorks CAD Software is very helpful for designing projects with very little waste … Even on small Home Workshop projects like this one.  🙂

Leftover Metal After Cutting All the Parts for Lift-Table Project

Leftover Metal After Cutting All the Parts for Lift-Table Project

After Cutting all the parts, the next phase was marking out where to drill holes …

Metal Cut and Ready to be Marked for Drilling Holes

Metal Cut and Ready to be Marked for Drilling Holes

I wanted this Lift-Table to be very adjustable which meant lots of holes …

Lift-Table Parts with the Holes Drilled and Ready for Welding

Lift-Table Parts with the Holes Drilled and Ready for Welding

After 364 holes I stopped counting … Very Adjustable … Lots of holes drilled …

364 Holes at Last Count ...

364 Holes at Last Count …

Once the holes were drilled it was time to weld all the parts together …

Welding Together the Parts for the Lift-Table's Lower Legs

Welding Together the Parts for the Lift-Table’s Lower Legs

I mostly used the Miller ‘inverter type’ Multimatic 200 MIG (Wirefeed) welding machine on this project, and I am still amazed every time I use these Miller ‘inverter‘ welding machines!   They are about the size of carry-on luggage and weigh less than 40 pounds; yet, they weld better than machines that I had in the past that weighed a 1000+ pounds — AND the best part is they work off 120v or 230v power. (Auto-Sensing the Voltage) ~ Brilliant Technology!!

Also used the Miller Dynasty DX AC/DC TIG Welder on some parts …

Welding the Gantry Parts on Welding Table that Fits Over Metal Band Saw

Welding the Gantry Parts on Welding Table that Fits Over Metal Band Saw

Built a Welding table this Spring that fits over the top of the metal band-saw ~ The Welding Table and custom clamps worked quite will for this project.

You can read more about the Compact Welding Workshop Area by CLICKING HERE 🙂

Testing the Fit-Up of Welding Parts Before Painting

Testing the Fit-Up of Welding Parts Before Painting

Thanks to great CAD Software, a straight cutting band saw, and quality welding machines …

Side Supports Painted Flat-Black

Side Supports Painted Flat-Black

Everything fit as it should and I painted the metal frame flat-black.

The Finished Metal Frame with a 1 Ton Chain Hoist

The Finished Metal Frame with a 1 Ton Chain Hoist Gantry in its Lowest Position

To help know when the table is high enough to drive the Jeep’s hood under, I painted the inner lower legs blue and when I see the blue I know the bottom of the tabletop will clear the hood of the Jeep Wrangler.   (If you look closely in the photo above you can see the blue paint starting to show)

The tabletop can go another 12″ above than what I need to clear the Jeep for larger vehicles.

Little Lift-Table is Very Helpful in the Workshop

Little Lift-Table is Very Helpful in the Workshop

In the future I am going to post a story about this little lift table that I made a few years ago.  I use it constantly during projects and used it to lift the tabletop from my old table onto this new ‘Adjustable Height’ Lift-Table …

Using Small Lift Table to Hold Large 4ft x 8ft Tabletop

Using Small Lift Table to  Temporarily Hold Large 4ft x 8ft Tabletop

The small lift-table is raised and lowered by turning a threaded rod with a hex nut on the end of it that fits into a socket that is turned with a 1/2 horse drill … Simple/Stupid, but it works great!! 🙂

Under Lift Table View prior to Installing on New Hoist/Lift Table

Under Lift Table View prior to Installing on New Hoist/Lift Table

Once the tabletop was installed, I raised the gantry to a higher position …

Finished 'Over-Jeep-Table' Ready for Welding Curtains to be Hung

Finished ‘Over-Jeep-Table’ Ready for Welding Curtains to be Hung

… AND THAT’S IT … ALL DONE 🙂

                                                                       — CHEERS …

 

UPDATE NOTE ~ Added an HOIST EXTENSION ARM to Table!!

SolidWorks Rendering Showing the Trailer Under the Chain Hoist Arm

SolidWorks Rendering Showing the Trailer Under the Chain Hoist Arm

 

UPDATE  NOTE ~ Samu Suojanen from Finland sent me a nice note today thanking me for my ‘Lift-table’ CAD file design that I posted on GrabCAD.   He used it in his robotic movement computer simulation project 🙂

You can view the YouTube Video at this Link: http://youtu.be/Ash5DYEnJiM

Lift-Table Being Used in a Robotic Simulation Video

Lift-Table Being Used in a Robotic Simulation Video

.  .  .

6 Comments

Filed under BRAINSTORMING, CONCEPTS, PROJECTS, WORKSHOP

6 responses to “‘Over Jeep’ Workshop Lift-Table

  1. steve

    Novel idea for a tight shop. Could have transformed the jeep hood into welding-work table. Just kidding, good job
    steve

  2. Hans

    MetalDesigner,

    Very cool. I would like the drawings for your over jeep workshop lift-table and your small workshop lift table.

    Thank you.

  3. Would like the pdf file if it’s still available. The project is just great.

  4. Dominic La Barbera

    man that’s a neat setup, sure would like to have drawings so I could make them both. thanks

  5. Pingback: Porta-Band-Saw Tabletop Stand | CTM Projects

Leave a Reply

